dmill1234567

• 1 Posts
Aren't finite beings bound to miss the mark?
« on: June 25, 2016, 02:30:25 AM »
Hello, I am new to philosophy so please go easy :) I am a Christian, although I do struggle like most people with understanding the problem of evil. The free will defence doesn't solve every problem for me because I don't think finite beings, like us, are morally capable of meeting God's standards and not falling short of the glory of God. This is one of the ways I define "sin".

I do believe I have a "free will", but I think that freedom is not true freedom. In a sense, I am not free to live a completely perfect life that does what ought to be done. It is not morally possible. (I am declared perfect in Christ, but I still sin- though now I have the Holy Spirit in me helping me to change)

Jesus was the only one who lived a sinless life -24/7. (which is amazing to think about when considering a commandment like "Love the Lord your God with all your mind, soul, heart and strength", etc.)

Thinking about how God created us as finite beings, it seems like there are somethings about us that are self-destructive by necessity. Aren't we bound to not live up to God's standards?

As finite beings we have the built in weakness of not being able to love God and people with 100% energy.We have the weakness of not knowing all the right details, to know what is the best course of action in every situation, we don't really know what impact our decisions will make and we don't really have the power to make good happen - these weakness should cause us to depend on Someone who has these qualities (God). But instead of admitting we are weak, we dig deeper to look for what we need. Whether in ourself or in something else, as long as it isn't God. (the root of moral evil)