Evidence based approaches and their limitations.
« on: February 14, 2014, 12:31:11 AM »
We are contained within our physical reality and cannot get out.  Almost all our thoughts affect the reality outside us.  The slightest 'resonance' between our minds and the reality around us can be sufficient to render the probability of seeing evidence that is there to almost zero (thought quantum mechanics prevents this limiting to zero like 19th century mathematicians loved to do with their budding area of analysis).

Please reply if you'd like to have this elaborated.  Please don't be offended or alarmed if I ask probing questions about your exact mathematical background, including how you do your times tables.  I did my PhD in the foundations of mathematics and came face to face with the effects of slight differences in interpretations which are undetectable through the language used to describe them.

It's this level of rigour that I have brought to my own inner 'war' between faith and reason.  Reason is good, but runs out of resources in critical places.  Faith wins there, and then eventually wins the war once reason understands its place and 'submits to The Lord' (in old-money-Christian-speak).

igr

• 1055 Posts
Re: Evidence based approaches and their limitations.
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2014, 08:44:30 AM »
Greetings,   

I agree that we are contained within our physical reality and cannot get out.  This does depend on your definition of "we" (or "I") though.  It also depends on whether or not there is an "after-life"; if there is, then we are contained only by being alive.  There are also dualism considerations, reference Richard Swinburne.

As for our thoughts affecting the reality outside us, I would have (as my first thought) that it is more a case of the reality outside us affecting our thoughts.  Imagine if your brain had no sensory inputs.